Faculty of Science


Go to Website

Message from Dean
The Faculty of Science, Chiang Mai University, was one of the first 3 faculties established at the same time as the inception of Chiang Mai University (CMU) in 1964. At present, it comprises the Office of the Dean, 8 academic departments (Biology, Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Physics and Materials Science, Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science) and 4 Centers (Science and Technology Service Center, Materials Science Research Center, Multidisciplinary Science Research Center and Doi Suthep Nature Study Center). Based on its vision, "The Faculty of Science will be the place for international academy high quality research with result-based management and provision of resources for self-reliance and Sustainability", the Faculty administration has therefore strived to carry out its missions and to conduct its operational plans following this vision, which is also in accordance with the vision of Chiang mai University.

The Faculty of Science, as well as Chiang Mai University, was established in 1964 as one of the 3 original faculties. The Faculty currently consists of 33 separate buildings which occupy a total area of 36 rai. Our mission is to produce high quality graduates in both pure and applied science disciplines that the nation as a whole and the local community need. Although the Faculty continues to grow and develop, we still focus on our 4 main tasks of teaching, conducting research, academic services for the community, and natural resources and environmental conservation. During its first decade, the Faculty of Science offered 5 Bachelor’s degree courses in Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, and Geological Sciences. In 1974, 8 Master’s Degree Programs were opened in Chemistry, Biology, Geological Sciences, Physics, Teaching Chemistry, Teaching Physics, Teaching Biology and Teaching Mathematics. Then, in 1989, the Faculty of Science was the first faculty in the University to offer Doctoral Degree Programs starting with 3 PhD Programs in Physics, Biology and Geological Sciences.

The Faculty of Science aims to be recognized at both national and international levels for its excellence in teaching and research in science and technology and for the provision of high quality academic services to society as a whole as it moves towards a sufficiency economy.

The Faculty of Science will continue to teach and conduct research in order to generate new knowledge and understanding which can be passed on from generation to generation. As an integral part of an academic institution, the Faculty of Science is committed to researching existing knowledge and exploring areas of new knowledge that can be beneficial for the nation’s sustainable development.

Mission and Targets
1. To provide higher-level education in science and technology for students both inside and outside the Faculty with the emphasis on achieving academic excellence to international standards
2. To produce high quality research in both basic and applied science and technology that can be useful in developing the country
3. To provide academic services for the communities in the Northern Region and the country as a whole
4. To promote Thai arts and culture, the sustainable use of natural resources and environmental conservation
5. To improve the quality of administration and management in all aspects in accordance with good governance and self-sufficiency economy philosophies
6. To find resources and sources of income sufficient for the development of the Faculty of Science and to enable it to become self-supporting

Core Values
The Faculty of Science, Chiang Mai University, defines its core values as: sCi
s = Strategic Management
C = Customer Focus
i = Institutional Learning


Faculty of Science

Read more..


End of content