CMU Signs Research University Network MOU Phase 3 Along with 7 Research Universities

20 February 2023

Corporate Communication and Alumni Relations Center (CCARC)

        Seven member universities of the Research University Network (RUN): Kasetsart, Chulalongkorn, Khon Kaen, Thammasat, Naresuan, Mahidol, Prince of Songkla and Chiang Mai, signed the RUN MOU Phase 3 on February 19, 2023, at the Northern Science Park, Chiang Mai.

The presidents and the presidents’ representatives of the RUN member universities signing the MOU were:

  • Professor Dr. Pongruk Sribunditmongkol, CMU President
  • Associate Professor Charnchai Panthongviriyakul, M.D., President of Khon Kaen University
  • Associate Professor Dr. Sarintip Tantanee, Acting President of Naresuan University
  • Assistant Professor Dr. Niwat Keawpradub, Acting President of Prince of Songkla University
  • Professor Banchong Mahaisavariya, President of Mahidol University
  • Associate Professor Dr. Sutkhet Nakasathien, Vice President for Research and Creation of Kasetsart University
  • Professor Dr. Siriwan Suebnukarn, Vice-Rector for Research and Innovation at Thammasat University, and
  • Dr. Adshariya Agsornintara, Director of Chulalongkorn University’s Office of Research Affairs.

           The signing of the RUN MOU Phase 3 is an indication of RUN’s success throughout the eight years of collaboration (2015 - 2023) under the principles of ‘Sincerity, Equality, Excellence’, or the ‘SExY Way’. Translating the saying ‘Universities should work together’ into action, as exemplified by RUN, will open up a new dimension in research and set up a model for other countries.

          RUN emerged to strengthen research capacity, develop potential, and expand the capacity in education, research and development to the regional scale by producing research based on national, regional, and global significance with the determination that such research will address future issues. It will also serve as the center in knowledge and innovation building for national development, as well as ASEAN. Operated under the concept of resource sharing, the network focuses on six research clusters, which are Energy, Food and Water, Climate Change, Materials Science, Health, and ASEAN Studies. Students of all levels, including those with post-doctoral fellowships, teaching staff and researchers in the network will be able to share research resources, as well as equipment, experience, and research management. They will also be able to collaborate to develop research projects and analyze research problems.