About Faculty / Facts & History
Faculty of Law
click to enlarge
Introduction to our fuculty
The Faculty of Law, the 20th faculty of Chiang Mai University, has provided Bachelor Degree in Law (LL.B), since 1992. A four-year legal curriculum of the faculty was approved by the Thai Bar Association in 1999. The curriculum approval had made the Faculty of Law, Chiang Mai University, the first faculty of law in the North and of Thailand. In 2004, the Faculty of Law launched Master Degree in Law (LL.M). A joint LL.M degree with the State University of New York at Buffalo was introduced in 2005. The Faculty of Law has signed the Memorandum of Understanding with many foreign law faculties, La Trobe University, Australia, The University of Law of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, among others, regarding mutual academic development and exchanging academic staffs and students. The latest revision of the LL.B and LL.M programmes was done in accordance with Thailand Qualification Framework (TQF).

Besides, the Faculty of Law has put an emphasis upon conducting legal research works that answer to local and national problems, and that are being incorporated into the subjects taught in the classroom. Legal Consultation Center (Legal Clinic) at the Faculty of Law forms a very strong base for giving legal education service and legal advice to local community. And it is where the law students practice their legal skills under a close supervision of the teachers. In the wake of the realization of ASEAN Community in 2015, an ASEAN law corpus is being inserted where possible into the content of the existing legal subjects. A one-year English LL.M Degree is being materialized. At least four English programmes for lawyers, a non-credit and supplementary programme, were created to equip the law students with legal English skills most important for their future career in the era of regional integration.
Year Founded
The Faculty of Law was founded and made the 20th faculty of Chiang Mai University in 2006. In 1992 when the Bachelor Degree in Law (LL.B) was first launched, the faculty of law was then a mere division in the Faculty of Social Science.
click to enlarge
Assistant Professor Chatree Rueangdetnarong
click to enlarge
Academic Programs
Bachelor Degree in Law (LL.B.)
Master Degree in Law (LL.M.)
Legal Certificate Program (International)
- Master Degree in Law (LL.M.) 89 Students
- Bachelor Degree in Law (LL.B.) 846 Students
20 Lecturing Members

1.Associate Professor Virada Somswasdi
2.Associate Professor Somchai Preechasinlapakun
3.Associate Professor Taipesrinivati Bhakdikul
4.Assistant Professor Dr. Pannarairat Srichaiyarat
5.Assistant Professor Chatree Rueangdetnarong
6.Dr.Nuthamon Kongcharoen
7.Lecturer Wasu Sinhashthita
8.Lecturer Chainarong Luengvilai
9.Lecturer Watis Sotthibandhu
10.Lecturer Sakchai Jinawong
11. Lecturer Boonchoo Na pomphet
12. Lecturer Kanya Hirunwattanapong
13. Lecturer Salinee Purungraengphol
14. Lecturer Paisit Panichkul
15. Lecturer Chayamarnie Bhiriyawanit
16. Lecturer Sutasinee Thitisudh
17. Lecturer Atsada-yut Polnpak
18. Lecturer Monthicha Phakdeekong
19. Lecturer Tossapon Tassanakunlapan
20. Lecturer Ploykaew Porananond

16 Supporting Staffs

1. Atsada-yut Polnpak - Deputy of Secretary of Faculty
2. Waruntorn Wangweang - Deputy of Head of General Administrative Affairs
3. Pannarit Thianthanakarn - General Administrative Affairs Staff (General administration)
4. Pongpipat Chawkhelang - General Administrative Affairs Staff (IT section)
5. Panpimon Teabpratanporn - General Administrative Affairs Staff (Human resource)
6. Ampawan Panyaraksa - Deputy of Head of Finance and Supply Affairs
7. Saruntron Meeboon - Finance and Supply Affairs Staff (Finance Section)
8. Sawat Kuranai - Finance and Supply Affairs Staff (Supply Section)
9. Thitima Akarajinda - Deputy of Head of Policy and Planning and Quality assurance Affairs
10. Jarunee Suwannarat - Policy and Planning and Quality assurance Affairs Staff
11. Maneenet Sonthung - Education Services Affairs Staff (Student section)
12. Suteera Chopradit - Education Services Affairs Staff (Education section)
13. Somporn Pornsommart - Education Services Affairs Staff (Education section)
14. Waralak Naksen - Research Administration Academic Services and Foreign Affairs Staff
15. Nithinee Tongtae - Legal Research and Development Center Staff
16. Nitisup Supawiwattanapong - Legal Consultation Center Staff
The Faculty of Law together with the representatives of alumni has been responsible for the alumnus affairs. The Law Alumni Association of Chiang Mai University will be established in December 2012 in commemoration of the twentieth anniversary of the faculty. Please visit the following website to be a member of the alumni and to see possible collaborations amongst us: www.law.cmu.ac.th/lawalumni. Further enquiries are welcome at: 6653-942920, 053-942919 or lawcmu@hotmail.com